Post subject: When not logged in and want to login to reply..
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:25 pm 
Planning Tribunal Attendee

Ok, sometimes i do not login and visit the site as a guest inadvertently. When i view a thread at page 5 for example and then i want to reply i have to login.
Now, problem is when i login, the browser leaves the page 5 of the thread i was viewing and jumps to the board index which is quite frustrating as i cannot find that page 5 immediately and end up doing endless scrolling to where i was, understand?! :)

Other boards do not do this so to make the Pin on parity, can we fix this? BD

Thanks

Post subject: Re: When not logged in and want to login to reply..
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 7:10 pm 
Speculator

Err, seems to work fine for me - unless I am miss interpreting your problem.

Was logged out.
Positioned at your subject/thread,
Clicked on Post Reply button @ top
Took me to login page
Keyed in User Id & Password
Paused for a few secords at a page with "you have been successfully logged in" message and hyperlink to "return to the previos page", (Note: I did not click anything)
It then launched a "post a reply" window within your subject/thread

and I keyed in all this & clicked the submit button and ...............

One thing I noticed is that you cannot "quote" when not logged in i.e. be logged out, click on quote, be brought to login page and then launch a window with the quote in it.

Edit: and after I click submit I get a page saying that my message was successfully posted and then brought back to the subject/thread with my message being the last entry.

Are ye using IE or FF? I use FF 3

A dirty workaround is to copy the url before clicking on the post reply button and to paste it back into the browser after you login - this will take you to the page with the message that you want to respond to and wish to quote. Not perfect but will save the fumbling around.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:39 pm 

T-B-M wrote:

Works fine here too, I'm guessing your hitting the "Login" button up the top gurramok?
T-B-M wrote:
One thing I noticed is that you cannot "quote" when not logged in i.e. be logged out, click on quote, be brought to login page and then launch a window with the quote in it.
The quote button should be there now when your not logged in and will redirect correctly after you login too.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 9:00 am 
Speculator

nemonoid wrote:
T-B-M wrote:

Works fine here too, I'm guessing your hitting the "Login" button up the top gurramok?
T-B-M wrote:
The quote button should be there now when your not logged in and will redirect correctly after you login too.

And working fine 8DD

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:09 pm 

Feck lads, it works fine from home on both IE and FF as you say.

I test it tomorrow in work as i think its something to do with proxy as it kept jumping to main index all the time, so i'll report then! :)