Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
 Post subject: The how to turn the country around Thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:04 pm 
Nationalised

Im no expert but maybe i can generate debate and get ideas from people who have a better idea of what should be done

From other threads:

nuts wrote:
Well Ireland's economy has been too dependant on construction, so anything that tries to shore up that will be a waste of time and money. Our options are either to;
Boost Tourism
Encourage more large companies to Ireland by further reducing Corp tax to offset high cost base
Increase agricultural output

As far as I can see, that's all we've got to play with.

blindjustice wrote:
Remove the minimum wage
Remove stamp duty
Remove mortgage interest relief
Remove rent relief
Remove affordable housing
Remove rent allowance
Remove different land zone types
Remove capital gains tax
Remove planning approval requirements if its going to be a permanent private residence for longer than 15 years, hammer them if they sell, make it prohibitive i.e the cost for "my home is my castle" and i`ll have it looking like whatever I want not what some board of "experts" want.

More:

Increase taxes on second or third and more properties.
Spread/Increase capital gains tax
Alter planning laws and zoning possibly create some new organisation for it.
Increase income tax during a boom
Increase reserve ratios during booms
Decrease income tax during recession
Decrease reserve ratio during a recession

Post subject: Re: The how to turn the country around Thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:05 pm 
Nationalised

would like to add:

make a fanatical move to renewable energy.
Along with wage cuts across the nation - to minimise hardship caused by this - allow hauliers the use of green diesel.
Cut the tax on green diesel even more.......

change bankruptcy laws with immediate effect.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:06 pm 
Nationalised