Post subject: Moriarty Tribunal : Award of licence to Esat was "illegal"
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 12:16 am 

noted on p.ie
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/w ... 727934.ece

The Moriarty tribunal has found that the state’s award of the second mobile-phone licence was illegal, and has made 60 negative findings against Denis O’Brien, the businessman who was a key figure in the successful bid by the Esat Digifone consortium.

The revelation of the findings has been made by O’Brien himself in an interview with The Sunday Times. He said preliminary findings by the tribunal effectively state that the Esat consortium was “illegally” issued with the state’s second mobile-phone licence because he had a “corrupt” relationship with Michael Lowry, the then Fine Gael minister for communications.

O’Brien has revealed that there were 60 “negative findings” among 79 issued to him by the tribunal last November. Although he would not comment on specific points, The Sunday Times understands the tribunal has found against O’Brien for making a political donation to Fine Gael, for concealing certain evidence, and for impropriety in Spanish and British property transactions in which he is allegedly linked to Lowry.

There are 29 findings outlining how the competition for the licence was improperly awarded to Esat by civil servants who, it is alleged, were “in thrall” to Lowry and facilitated the minister’s desire for O’Brien to win the licence.

The businessman, who has spent €12m on legal fees to date has vowed to fight the tribunal “street by street”, and said newspaper adverts he bought that mocked a tribunal lawyer who charged chocolates from a hotel mini-bar to the state were part of his plan.

“I will confront them on this and the ads are just one part of it,” he said. “I am going to fight them at every turn along the way. This is street-to-street now. There are 60 findings and they are all wrong and I know how they are wrong.”

On the night O’Brien received the preliminary findings he told a friend he was in shock. “They’ve damned us all,” he said. “They’ve damned the licence, they’ve destroyed the civil service, they’ve destroyed Lowry and they’ve destroyed me.”

O’Brien accused the state of not grasping the seriousness of the findings. “We are the only ones that have taken up the fight on this, other than IIU [Dermot Desmond’s company],” he said. “We’ve had to take the fight to the tribunal otherwise the government will be faced with a massive claim for damages.The fundamental thing is whether the licence was legally issued.Provisional findings say it was illegal.”

O’Brien said there was nothing wrong with the licence competition except for “Mickey Mouse” stuff. “If you take any licence competition, will everything be perfect?” he said. “There are bound to be some human errors but not serious things.”

The businessman believes the tribunal is “out to get a scalp” in order to justify its costs, which are expected to reach 100m.

O’Brien also alleged that Bertie Ahern, the former taoiseach, made a “political decision” in 2002 to “keep the Moriarty Tribunal going” to embarrass Fine Gael, though he did not substantiate this claim.

Recent public hearings demonstrate the tribunal is determined to find against him, O’Brien claimed, and he does not believe Moriarty will alter his findings. However he says he has a strategy to combat this. “I obviously don’t want to say what I’m going to do, but I have a plan,” he said.

Were fooked. Imagine the lawsuits claiming damages from the other losing consortia....twill make NAMA look like Lidl

Post subject: Re: Moriarty Tribunal : Award of licence to Esat was "illegal"
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 12:20 am 
Planning Tribunal Attendee

can we call in CAB?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 12:26 am 

Was this the foundation of DoB's fortune? Fruit of the poisoned tree any use to us here? If true of course.....

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 2:03 am 

Can we just add the forthcoming lawsuits against the state onto NAMA ?
It would just tidy the whole thing up.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:25 am 
Neo Landlord

We truly are a nation of gobshites. I still remember the ovation DOB got on the Late Late the weekend after he'd sold on ESAT for megabucks. Is there a place on earth that better incubates stupidity?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:27 am 
Single Home Owner

Perhaps we are heading into the 'Silly Season'. A good Media back lash (spin the wheel) would sort out a 'lot of things' including NAMA. How they can call Liabilities Assetts defies LOGIC in this, Liabilities business that the majority of people are entraped in. A good Denis O'Brien Media Aquisitions Business would be a goal kick to the Tony O'Reilly News and Media and his Clan of Self promoting interests. The powers that are 'hope' the gullable 'little people' with their 'crocks of gold' will part with their crocks to nama. We could do with a few Media Firesales for starters - to put a floor on property values and open up the farcical Property Times, Independent, Business Post, to Openness and Accountability.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:46 am 

charmschooldropout wrote:
We truly are a nation of gobshites. I still remember the ovation DOB got on the Late Late the weekend after he'd sold on ESAT for megabucks. Is there a place on earth that better incubates stupidity?

You ba3tard, it has taken me years to get over the trauma of not buying in the Esat digifone shares when they went public, knowing they would soar and make me a hell of a lot richer. Instead I had to work the last 9 years since BritishTelecom Wireless (later O2) bought out the shareholders for a massively inflated price.
Right, looks like I'll have to make an appointment with my shrink again on Monday :evil:

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:56 am 

OT, but this is weird. When I read your post I could of swore I had read it before, word for word. Deja vú.

''I detest snivelling twitters!'' Ming the Merciless

''If you haven’t the strength to impose your own terms upon life, then you must accept the terms it offers you." T.S Eliot

''Nobody who has invested much time down a blind alley likes the messenger who shines
a light at the brick wall up ahead." Fredrick Ross

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:33 am 

A dangerous precedent in smear campaigning is being set here by DOB.

Getting his retaliations in first against the legal team in a bid to deflect from the "alleged" crooked tendering process.

He'll be fine with his billions in tax exile, what about the rest of us plebs who will be left to pay the bill? :cry:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aF_HSCmnFTA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 11:59 am 
Single Home Owner

Meh. Next election, both Lowry and Beverly CheesyGrin will be re-elected. So will the long line of other disgraces such as Bertie (he won't run though), Martin Cullen, Dermot Ahern, Frank Fahey etc. We must be the masochistic nation on earth.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 12:21 pm 

markf909 wrote:
A dangerous precedent in smear campaigning is being set here by DOB.

Getting his retaliations in first against the legal team in a bid to deflect from the "alleged" crooked tendering process.

He'll be fine with his billions in tax exile, what about the rest of us plebs who will be left to pay the bill? :cry:

....squeal like a pig boy.....

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 1:15 pm 

The Tribunals are star chambers and not proper courts. If we're a laughing stock it's because we pay billions to barristers to come up with something that has no legal validity.

I'm glad O'Brien is taking them on and I respect him for so doing.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 1:29 pm 
Neo Landlord

Ireland_is_different wrote:

You ba3tard, it has taken me years to get over the trauma of not buying in the Esat digifone shares when they went public, knowing they would soar and make me a hell of a lot richer. Instead I had to work the last 9 years since BritishTelecom Wireless (later O2) bought out the shareholders for a massively inflated price.
Right, looks like I'll have to make an appointment with my shrink again on Monday :evil:

Ah well-at least your conscience is clear-morally at least- it's beginning to look as if they would have been ill gotton gains.Anyway who was it said that Arbeit macht Frei? On second thoughts, any chance that shrink of yours has any open slots?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 1:31 pm 
Neo Landlord

Mossy_Heneberry wrote:

OT, but this is weird. When I read your post I could of swore I had read it before, word for word. Deja vú.

Born bred and battered here so not the first time I've been driven to such deadpan despair. Highly unlikely it's going to be the last.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 3:56 pm 

the edge wrote:
The Tribunals are star chambers and not proper courts. If we're a laughing stock it's because we pay billions to barristers to come up with something that has no legal validity.

and thats why they were created...

If they used the court system like a real country operating under the rule of law then people would start going to jail..and then they would start squealing about where all the other bodies are buried and incriminating others...

..and before you know it more than 40% of the ruling class would either indicted or in jail.

We cannot be having that, can we. No chance of a Tangentopoli here.

As for DOB, he's as guilty as sin. Just another gombeen cute hoor on the make.