Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 10  Next
 Post subject: Re: House Repossession in Laois Stopped Thanks to People Pow
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:31 am 

snaps wrote:
I read about that case on boards.ie it sounds like that Sludds guy messed up.

At least he learned his lesson. Oh no, wait...one month later:

BOBBY SLUDDS, Bobby Oliver Sludds or Bobby of the family Sludds - call him what you like, a blizzard of legal paperwork could not stave off two motor insurance convictions and a series of fines imposed on the man from 11 Ballagh Cove in The Ballagh last week.

And Sludds faces a decision on one final piece of legal paperwork as he was given seven days to sign bonds binding himself to the peace, or else face seven months in jail.

The prosecution was brought by Garda Michael O'Grady against the colourful and articulate defendant for offences committed in The Ballagh during April and May of last year. However, before the Garda could give his evidence, the accused handed in a letter and stated that he was not Mr. Sludds. He also queried the use of the word 'person' in the charge, to no avail.

He said he was not Bobby Oliver Sludds - whom he described as 'a fictional entity' - and preferred to be known as Bobby of the family Sludds. Judge William Early accepted this and marked the charges 'also known as Bobby of the family Sludds' before using this form of address throughout the rest of the proceedings.

The case continued, with the judge taking time to read a number of documents handed up to him by the accused. He also heard Bobby of the family Sludds, who came to court with at least eight supporters, quote passages from 'Black's Legal Dictionary'.

Garda O'Grady told how he first came across a blue Honda Civic bearing the registration BS PFN in Ballinamona on April 28 last year. The driver pointed a camera at him, when he approached. Insurance, motor tax and NCT summonses followed against Sludds who told the officer at the time he was a 'free man travelling, not driving'.

Michael O'Grady reported that that BS PFN appeared to stand for 'Bobby Sludds, Private Free Man'. A more conventional registration plate, 91 WX 3554, was in the back of the Honda.

Further summonses were issued after vehicle BS PFN was seen on the road once more a few weeks later on May 19 at Castle Ellis. The Garda turned on his blue flashing lights and followed the defendant to Ballagh Cove.

The accused refused to supply name or address and again said that he was ' travelling'. However, he did admit that there was an engine in the vehicle and a steering wheel in his hand. No evidence of insurance cover or driving licence was ever produced.

A various stages during the hearing, the accused described the prosecution case as negligent and the Garda testimony as falsified. He said he felt that the force was conspiring against him. He applied for an adjournment to allow him produce video evidence. When this application was unsuccessful, he called for trial by judge and jury.

Judge Early explained that he was not entitled to any such trial before finding the case against Bobby of the family Sludds proven. The court learned that the defendant had 24 previous convictions for motoring offences, including two for driving without insurance.

Sludds said he was not working. He dismissed the State as a fictional entity. He asked: 'Have I offended anyone here?', prompting a chorus of 'No' from his supporters.

' The people have spoken,' he concluded.

The judge concluded otherwise, imposing €670 in fines for the lack of driving licence, motor tax and NCT. He recorded a three month jail sentence on the first insurance charge, suspended on Bobby of the family Sludds entering a bond to be of good behaviour for two years. On the second insurance charge, the sentence was four months, suspended on similar conditions.

The accused indicated that he intended to consider whether to sign. The judge offered him free legal aid but Bobby of the family Sludds said this was not necessary.

There really is a rich vein of comedy in this - the attempted distinction between 'driving' and 'travelling' etc.

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/news/bobby- ... 78029.html

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:01 pm 

I had never heard of this "oath" and Freeman stuff before, but it is bolloxology of the first order. I do not take kindly to the authority of the State being questioned and don't find it particularly amusing that some crowd of loony cowboys think it's fair game. Or, in the case of some, grounds for acting the fucking clown in court.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:38 pm 
Neo Landlord

I only heard about this stuff a couple of days ago. Still trying to figure out what to make of it all. Is it just loony nonsense or a reincarnation of old ghosts?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freeman%27s_Journal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:49 pm 

Larry wrote:
I had never heard of this "oath" and Freeman stuff before, but it is bolloxology of the first order. I do not take kindly to the authority of the State being questioned and don't find it particularly amusing that some crowd of loony cowboys think it's fair game. Or, in the case of some, grounds for acting the fucking clown in court.

+1

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:17 pm 
Single Home Owner

The "oath" thing is indeed complete dogwank.

The Sherriff turns up with a Court Order to repossess the house, if the owner of the house and/or his buddies attempt to frustrate the Sherriff exercising the court order by using force etc. they are in contempt and/or may be committing other offences depending on their course of action - hence the presence of the po po to ensure all parties adhere to the law (by law I mean the law as interpreted by the courts and not the freeman understanding of it).

If the Freeman movement wish to challenge any element of the workings of the guards/courts/oaths etc. they must do so by way of Judicial Review i.e. go to the High Court, in that regard I suspect any of their contentions will and probably have been given short shrift. I dont know much about them but they would seem not to recognise the courts and instead prefer a situation where no final arbitrator can be called - that way you can ensure you're always right and can make shit up as you go along.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:02 pm 
Neo Landlord

Thats an interesting description of how the process should work. Why do u think it didn't go down like that in the video?

Judicial review seems like an expensive process and I doubt the people in the video have much money.
http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/go ... sions.html

There is no fixed rate of charges for legal fees in Ireland so you should obtain some quotes before deciding on legal representation. Your solicitor must advise you in writing of the fees you will be charged for his/her services. If it is not possible to give you a definite sum, he/she must estimate a sum or at the very least describe the basis upon which charges or fees will be calculated.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:15 pm 
Real Estate Developer

Barney Gumble wrote:
karlos_the_jackal wrote:
I do not see how "invoking" the above oath puts someone at an advantage?

In the case under discussion, I presume it relates to this:
A Bailiff or Policyman likewise. Having put a Bailiff on his or her Oath, they become Peace Officers, and are there to PROTECT your Rights. If a Bailiff arrives with a Policyman, put them both on their Oaths. If the Bailiff then proceeds as they do normally ... in other words continues to threaten ... then you can TELL the Policyman to "Arrest that man (woman), and I'm placing him or her into your safe custody". If the Policyman fails to react to that, say: "Who is your boss? I'm going to have you BOTH arrested for pretending to be what you are not."

Wow, what a load of deluded shite.

"The not-so-hidden subtext behind all this yelling for debt forgiveness in the meeja is that the infantile and greedy debtmonkeys want all the debts to magically disappear, but they also want to retain ownership of the assets - and any income streams from those assets in the future". - Sidewinder Apr 13 2011

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:25 pm 
Property Magnate

karlos_the_jackal wrote:
Barney Gumble wrote:
karlos_the_jackal wrote:
I do not see how "invoking" the above oath puts someone at an advantage?

In the case under discussion, I presume it relates to this:
A Bailiff or Policyman likewise. Having put a Bailiff on his or her Oath, they become Peace Officers, and are there to PROTECT your Rights. If a Bailiff arrives with a Policyman, put them both on their Oaths. If the Bailiff then proceeds as they do normally ... in other words continues to threaten ... then you can TELL the Policyman to "Arrest that man (woman), and I'm placing him or her into your safe custody". If the Policyman fails to react to that, say: "Who is your boss? I'm going to have you BOTH arrested for pretending to be what you are not."

Wow, what a load of deluded shite.

+1
lets just make it up as we go along..

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:59 pm 
Single Home Owner

snaps wrote:
Thats an interesting description of how the process should work. Why do u think it didn't go down like that in the video?

Judicial review seems like an expensive process and I doubt the people in the video have much money.
http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/go ... sions.html

There is no fixed rate of charges for legal fees in Ireland so you should obtain some quotes before deciding on legal representation. Your solicitor must advise you in writing of the fees you will be charged for his/her services. If it is not possible to give you a definite sum, he/she must estimate a sum or at the very least describe the basis upon which charges or fees will be calculated.

Its all in the hands of the assistant Sherriff, he made a call to back down, wrongly I would say, but it was the easy option! If he were to forge ahead and the cops backed him up Benny and the boys could only challenge their actions in enforcing the court order by way of Judicial review - and in reality they'd have no chance of success.

The Freeman approach seems to sidestep the issue that ultimately if you want to challenge any state action etc. you need to do so before a Judge by Judicial Review. The Courts have the ultimate jurisidiction in interpreting the law and its the system thats universally recognised, for the Freeman argument to prevail they would need to have their slant recognised and endorsed and I cant see that happening because as you can probably gather it appears to be deployed mainly as a defensive mechanism of last resort relying on ridiculously pedantic interpretations of various statutes etc., I dont think you could build a viable system on it if everyone was free to carry on as they wished (i.e. drive around uninsured, stop paying loans etc.) and the goalposts were moved on an hourly basis.

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:02 pm 

the law is an ass. Hence the assholes

Access to accurate information means very little in the face of strong convictions; that's one of the massive challenges we face in trying to warn the world that the future of endless technological progress they think they've been promised isn't going to happen: no matter how strong the evidence may be, belief in what amounts to a secular religion of progress trumps it.

John Michael Greer 2012

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:28 pm 
Planning Tribunal Attendee

Would these freemen be comfortable with a person taking their property or squatting in their house and forcefully evicting them through severe violence? Would they then come running for the protection of the state through its justice system?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:08 pm 
Single Home Owner

They sound like narky, pain in the ass, teenagers.

(its acceptable in teenagers as it is a growing process - but you hope that they will evolve).

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:25 pm 
Holiday Home Owner

http://www.independent.ie/national-news ... 31167.html
A McCann Fitzgerald spokesman advised the media not to print details of the memo, which claims that the statute implementing the charge cannot affect members of the public if they do not consent to it.

looks like these loo-lahs decided to try to use McCann Fitzgerald for their nefarious purposes. God love them, they're going to feel the pointy end of the law now.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 3:42 am 
Planning Tribunal Attendee

Larry wrote:

Larry, I don't take kindly to you not taking kindly to the authority of the state being questioned.

All authority is questionable. Most of all that of a state where if the people choose one thing they are made vote on it again until they give the state the answer it wants.

Bollox to taking kindly of authority.

Fuckwits rule in this case! (The whole licensing, motor tax and NCT and motor insurance situation in this country any how is so full of holes that I'm not even going to go into that.....)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:25 am 

Barney Gumble wrote:
There really is a rich vein of comedy in this - the attempted distinction between 'driving' and 'travelling' etc.

http://www.wexfordpeople.ie/news/bobby- ... 78029.html

Well as I understand it, apparently there is a distinction.
'Driving' is something like 'acting in commerce on the highway' leaving the person liable to levies/taxes.
'Travel' is a right, not subject to taxes etc. This is what the loon is getting at.

Did you ever wonder why a guard asks 'Is this your vehicle?' they never ask 'Is this your car?' or 'Is this your 'automobile'?
Do you think Guards ask these questions in stilted language just to reinforce a stereotype of a Kerryman saying Veh-hick-ill?

Well these Freeman boyos are using the same stilted legalese now to extricate themselves from minor infringements.

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 10  Next