Board index » The Property Pin Website - Open Development » theideapin.com - Open Dev

Post subject: Scraping property pin posts
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 1:32 am 
Migrant

Hi everyone,

I'm a computer science student at TCD and I'm interested in doing a project that analyzes posts from thepropertypin forum.
For my project, I need to scrape some posts from this website and I am just wondering if it would be okay if I did this?

Are there any admins I can contact about this? I sent an email to openwindow but I don't think he/she checks that account, or it went to spam. (Also, I presume there's a minimum number of posts needed before pms can be sent as I can't send pms)

I don't really want to give away too much about what I want to research, because it may skew the results(it probably won't, but better safe than sorry).

Also, I can publish the results online after my project is done, which will be some time around April/May :)

Thanks

Last edited by What Goes Up... on Fri Dec 05, 2014 1:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Removed poster's firstname from bottom of OP

Post subject: Re: Scraping property pin posts
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 1:40 am 
Nationalised

My 2¢:

It's in the public domain.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:13 am 
Planning Tribunal Attendee

Have at it, but don't quote me on that, my first ambition in life is to be an anonymous source, my 2nd, to be a member of a cabal.

I believe the National Library operates a scraping racket. Not sure about the extent or limitations.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:31 am 
Of Systemic Importance

Maybe get a life instead.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:54 am 

grumpy wrote:

Seriously? A guy comes looking for assistance and info and that is your response.

@outterest
I can see no reason as to why you should not scrap them, people have been scraping forums for quite a while.