Post subject: Landlord Lobby group strives to save their slummy bedsits
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:25 pm 

In any civilised country in the world you can get a 1 room apartment with galley kitchen and with a TOILET AND SHOWER included. These are called Studio Apartments.

However in Ireland and especially in Dublin we have a slumola relic called the Bedsit. ...instead.

A Bedsit is simply an Unsanitary ( and generally unsafe) Studio Apartment. So finally the government decreed in 2008 they be banned for being grossly substandard and the ban takes effect in 2 years. Not surprisingly the Landlords are attached to their money for old rope business model.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1010/bedsit.html
The Irish Property Owners Association say that in 2013 landlords will have to comply with the legislation and close down or renovate this type of accommodation.

They say the current economic climate means that many of them will be unable to secure loans to renovate the property.

Convert them back to houses so lads or sell them to someone who will. :nin We don't need any more Garda Kevin Galvin and his slums.

Post subject: Re: Landlord Lobby group strives to save their slummy bedsit
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:19 pm 

2Pack wrote:
In any civilised country in the world you can get a 1 room apartment with galley kitchen and with a TOILET AND SHOWER included. These are called Studio Apartments.

However in Ireland and especially in Dublin we have a slumola relic called the Bedsit. ...instead.

A Bedsit is simply an Unsanitary ( and generally unsafe) Studio Apartment. So finally the government decreed in 2008 they be banned for being grossly substandard and the ban takes effect in 2 years. Not surprisingly the Landlords are attached to their money for old rope business model.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1010/bedsit.html
The Irish Property Owners Association say that in 2013 landlords will have to comply with the legislation and close down or renovate this type of accommodation.

They say the current economic climate means that many of them will be unable to secure loans to renovate the property.

Convert them back to houses so lads or sell them to someone who will. :nin We don't need any more Garda Kevin Galvin and his slums.

Many of us and our parents lived in these bedsits in our student days.

Personally I would like to see the back of them but there is a demand for this type of property (cheaper than 1 bedroom alternatives).

In addition, I suspect that many of these bedsits are let to RA tenants.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:05 pm 

Studios are not 1 bedroom flats, they are bedsits with a toilet and shower. I lived in plenty in Europe and they are eminently better and safer than Bedsits knocked out of old houses with no insulation and feck all fire safety.

And you can shower and crap in privacy of course.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:13 pm 
Planning Tribunal Attendee

Is there really demand for these places?
As far as I know they're unrentable at the moment. I certainly know that where friends of mine were renting one/two bed places and there was a bedsit/shower on the corridor type flat, the landlord couldn't give it away.

Definitely time to see the back of them.

Ensure that the house is in a proper state of structural repair. This means that it must be essentially sound with roof, floors, ceilings, walls and stairs in good repair and not subject to serious dampness or rotting. The new Regulations strengthen this requirement with effect from 1 December 2009 (see below)
Provide a sink with hot and cold water
Provide a separate ventilated room with a bath or shower and toilet
Provide heating appliances for every room lived in
Provide facilities for cooking and for the hygienic storage of food, for example, a 4 ring hob with oven and grill, fridge-freezer and microwave oven
Provide clothes washing facilities
Provide clothes drying facilities if there isn’t a garden or a yard
Ensure that electricity or gas supplies are in good repair and safe
Ensure that every room has adequate ventilation and both natural and artificial lighting
Provide a fire blanket and fire alarms
Provide access to vermin-proof and pest-proof refuse storage facilities.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:06 am 

i was very worried about what would happen to a lot of my tennants but now hopefully they will be alright and will not end up hoeless,some of them i have had as tennats going back 25 year,when i first bought houses in Dublin when i was doing good bidness in manchester ,bought them for a song even looking at todays prices.
Good work FineG for abolishing that crap that would put poor decent people with social problems out in the street
my bidness partner though bought property here like no one i have ever seen,he will be delitghed with this news and be glad for his tennants also

http://www.irishlandlord.com/forum/show ... php?t=2389

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 6:59 am 

God they are greaseballs :( . The best solution for people with social problems is something like the French Foyer system which is a block/complex of Studio apartments with a concierge/reception desk that is permanently manned.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:26 am 

Larry wrote:
i was very worried about what would happen to a lot of my tennants but now hopefully they will be alright and will not end up hoeless,some of them i have had as tennats going back 25 year,when i first bought houses in Dublin when i was doing good bidness in manchester ,bought them for a song even looking at todays prices.
Good work FineG for abolishing that crap that would put poor decent people with social problems out in the street
my bidness partner though bought property here like no one i have ever seen,he will be delitghed with this news and be glad for his tennants also

Scary on so many levels.

“The only calibration that counts is how much heart people invest, how much they ignore their fears of being hurt or caught out or humiliated. And the only thing people regret is that they didn't live boldly enough, that they didn't invest enough heart, didn't love enough. Nothing else really counts at all.” Ted Hughes

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” Anais Nin

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:40 am 

Larry wrote:

Elmer Fudd?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:46 am 

Bedsit landlords are scumbag money grabbing fucks .

I rented my first flat off one when I was 20 . I was lucky in that it was self contained . The bedsits had to share a shower and bathroom in the hall . The shower had a bundle of naked electric wires running just over it .
The people who rented the bedsits were all middle aged men who were either broken down alcoholics or men who had just seperated from their wives and had nowhere else to go .

Upstairs we had a 2 low level drug dealers and some low level criminals who used to break in the other flats whenever it suited them .

At 20 it was a fantastic life lesson in relation to money grabbing scumbag landlords . I swore then that I would never be at their mercy . I also applied that lesson to banks in later life as my landlord was a bank manager .

Bottom line is that none of them are safe . I was in heaps of them back in the day and if there was a fire everybody was fucked . There was not even a smoke detector anywhere or even anykind of basic safety . It looked like the houses had been converted by a inter cert woodwork class .

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:50 am 

Larry wrote:

I too spend many a waking hour worrying that friends and family are left without a hoe.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:51 am 

I have lived in a few of these pre-63 death traps in the past when I started out as they say and I wouldnt keep a dog in them but there are two sides to the story. On the one hand you have the scumbag landlord who will rent to anybody in society including people who should be in the care of the state and then you have poor unfortunates whom life has taken a turn for the worse whether it be a dependency of some sort or a relationship falling apart.
The question is do these landlords provide a service of any kind whatsoever? Answer no as I have never come across a former tenant of a landlord who said that they were better off having spent anytime in a bedsit be it physically or mentally but I have (and this includes me) come across lots of people who were glad to get out of them and suffered while living in them. These landlords provide a hoovering up the social welfare service as most of these pre 63 dumps are not fit for purpose so they sould be banned, they belong to 'dublin in the rare oul times' shit and should be consigned there along with some of the neanderthal's that own them, they are parasites on the state and its time the tide turned and washed them out.

A people that values its privileges above its principles soon loses both.
Dwight D. Eisenhower

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:21 am 
Homeless

the good news is that DCC, who conduct inspections on behalf of the PRTB are shortly to recruit Enviromental Health Officers to target pre'63 properties.
Expect to see the advert in the papers any day now.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:42 pm 

If people want to rent out bedsits that's their own business. At the end of the day, it's just another business transaction.

''Socialism in general has a record of failure so blatant that only an intellectual could ignore or evade it'' Thomas Sowell.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:50 pm 

Mossy_Heneberry wrote:
If people want to sell heroin that's their own business. At the end of the day, it's just another business transaction.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:52 pm 
Holiday Home Owner

Mossy_Heneberry wrote:
If people want to rent out bedsits that's their own business. At the end of the day, it's just another business transaction.

Wrong - the point of regulation is to address power and information asymmetries