Post subject: Former Anglo Finance Director arrested
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:03 am 
Planning Tribunal Attendee

Willie McAteer, former Finance Director at Anglo-Irish Bank arrested today.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1101/angloirish.html

Post subject: Re: Former Anglo Finance Director arrested
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:07 am 

Sale Agreed means nothing!

:-GC

https://twitter.com/nomoneyupfront
Open Window designs concept house for a pin user w/small footprint - > see sketches & pictures here <
Catbear - "I was comfortable with a couple of banks being married today, instead i wake up and find I'm married to the banks.""The wRight Poster"

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:09 am 

Open Window wrote:
Sale Agreed means nothing!
I agree!

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:19 am 

Gardaí are investigating directors’ loans at the bank. Mr McAteer was one of a number of directors to have been loaned substantial sums.

In 2009, he had a loan of €8 million owing to Anglo. The loan is secured on Anglo shares, which are effectively worthless following the bank’s nationalisation.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/bre ... ing19.html

Hopefully this is a sign that the ODCE and Garda Fraud squad finally have their case built and are ready to move in, lots of nervous folk about town today after this.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:21 am 

goldmanberg wrote:
lots of nervous folk about town today after this.
8DD 8DD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:23 am 

Fair play to you Willie.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:38 am 

If any prosecutions ever take place with regard to Anglo, I can foresee the Ernest Saunders defence being rolled out at least once. Sure you can't be sending white-collar criminals from good backgrounds to prison, can you?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:53 pm 

Barney Gumble wrote:
If any prosecutions ever take place with regard to Anglo, I can foresee the Ernest Saunders defence being rolled out at least once. Sure you can't be sending white-collar criminals from good backgrounds to prison, can you?

Ernest Walter Saunders (born 21 October 1935) is a former British business manager, best known as one of the "Guinness Four", a group of businessmen who attempted to fraudulently manipulate the share price of the Guinness company. He was sentenced to five years' imprisonment, but released after 10 months as he was suffering with apparent Alzheimer's Disease. Moments after leaving prison he fully recovered

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ernest_Saunders

Medical wonder that man.

Open Window designs concept house for a pin user w/small footprint - > see sketches & pictures here <
Catbear - "I was comfortable with a couple of banks being married today, instead i wake up and find I'm married to the banks.""The wRight Poster"

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:55 pm 

Editorial note a such... since there may be a criminal case pending please keep it to what we know regards the content of posts. Please post nothing that might "prejudice" a case :x .... you can PM me instead :mrgreen:

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:18 pm 

The truth is 'we dont know nuttin, wont know nuttin and wont be told nuttin' unless something is leaked to the press by the powers that be and it wouldnt surprise me if anybody is brought to court in relation to Anglo or any other institution if the proceedings are held 'in camera' so as not to prejudice the outcome (or to mushroom manage the public).

A people that values its privileges above its principles soon loses both.
Dwight D. Eisenhower

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:53 pm 

We *do* know that this was done the day before the $1bn Anglo bond payment, and makes it look like the government is being tough on Anglo. Lucky, that.

Oh, and he was already arrested last year.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:12 pm 

evilal wrote:
We *do* know that this was done the day before the $1bn Anglo bond payment, and makes it look like the government is being tough on Anglo. Lucky, that.

Oh, and he was already arrested last year.

+1
we are all terrible cynics but then again with good reason

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:19 pm 
Single Home Owner

On a side note, why was he brought to Irishtown? It's not exactly the closest Garda Station to Rathgar, and nor is it the most central.

Just curious like.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:19 pm 

gwavin wrote:
On a side note, why was he brought to Irishtown? It's not exactly the closest Garda Station to Rathgar, and nor is it the most central.

Just curious like.

When a special squad is setup for a particular job, they have to have their own offices. The Anglo investigation officers are all probably camped in Irishtown.

"Mr Kelly said Ireland’s “reputational capital” had been damaged by “chancers” such as ex-Anglo Irish Bank chairman Seán FitzPatrick, who had been abetted by “buffoons” such as former financial regulator Patrick Neary, Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan and the Taoiseach." - Irish Times 13th Jan 2009

"If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to be a horrible warning." (Catherine Aird)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:39 pm 
Single Home Owner

fishfoodie wrote:
gwavin wrote:

Just curious like.

When a special squad is setup for a particular job, they have to have their own offices. The Anglo investigation officers are all probably camped in Irishtown.

Actually, makes perfect sense, thank you.