Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 829 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54 ... 56  Next
 Post subject: Re: The Emigration Thread.
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 1:27 pm 
Real Estate Developer

ray wrote:
@NigelTuffnel, @Hifi - have a look at page two of this report - http://www.orac.ie/pdf/PDFStats/Monthly ... report.pdf (PDF)

The number of asylum seekers has been declining at a steady rate since 2001. There doesn't seem to be any relation to the Irish economic condition. Don't let that stop ye making unfounded assertions.

Ray, those figures don't tell the full story. Part of the drop since 2001 could be put down to tougher border controls and changes in asylum law. "Direct Provision" too made it less attractive to come here for some and there was changes to the work permit system. Another vital change that that would have skewed the figures in that period are the fact that those from EU accession states (e.g.Romania, Czech Republic, Lithuania etc) could come here without applying for asylum after 2004. Prior to that many from these countries came here through the asylum system.

Anway, I stand by my assertion that the massive increase in asylum seekers coming to Ireland in the past 15 years is/was directly related to our economic success.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:32 pm 

I remember approaching passport check at Dublin airport from a flight from a non EU nation back in 96, I was raising my passport to show them and the Gardai just waved me through without even seeing what country it was from. If he had a thought bubble over his head it might have said "Ah sure Ireland must be great place if all these furriers want to come here, slainte".

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:49 pm 

HiFi wrote:
ray wrote:
@NigelTuffnel, @Hifi - have a look at page two of this report - http://www.orac.ie/pdf/PDFStats/Monthly ... report.pdf (PDF)

The number of asylum seekers has been declining at a steady rate since 2001. There doesn't seem to be any relation to the Irish economic condition. Don't let that stop ye making unfounded assertions.

Ray, those figures don't tell the full story. Part of the drop since 2001 could be put down to tougher border controls and changes in asylum law. "Direct Provision" too made it less attractive to come here for some and there was changes to the work permit system. Another vital change that that would have skewed the figures in that period are the fact that those from EU accession states (e.g.Romania, Czech Republic, Lithuania etc) could come here without applying for asylum after 2004. Prior to that many from these countries came here through the asylum system.

Anway, I stand by my assertion that the massive increase in asylum seekers coming to Ireland in the past 15 years is/was directly related to our economic success.

You make some good points.
However, I don't believe that the number of asylum seekers from EU accession contries would be material in terms of the overall numbers seeking asylum.
The figures make it clear that the number of people seeking asylum have been dropping year on year, bar one year, though the overall trend is down. I think that relating the drop in the number of asylum seekers to the Irish economy does not bear out when you look at the numbers supplied above.

"A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself."
- Cicero

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 3:27 pm 
Neo Landlord

ray wrote:

Hi Ray, I'm not making an assertion; I'm asking a question. Given the figures I think it's a valid one. So all the conflict in Africa/Asia/Mid East must be down dramatically. Or is that also verboten to ask?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:05 pm 

NigelTuffnel wrote:
ray wrote:

Hi Ray, I'm not making an assertion; I'm asking a question. Given the figures I think it's a valid one. So all the conflict in Africa/Asia/Mid East must be down dramatically. Or is that also verboten to ask?

Yes, you do have a question mark, although I read it as rhetorical. The article can be read and possibly interpreted as the figure reducing in one short period of time, whereas, the figure has been reducing over an extended period of time. It could be interpreted as being economically related. The figures over ten years show that asylum applications in Ireland would appear to have no direct relationship with prevailing economic conditions. I'd hate for anybody to draw that conclusion.

"A nation can survive its fools, and even the ambitious. But it cannot survive treason from within. An enemy at the gates is less formidable, for he is known and carries his banner openly. But the traitor moves amongst those within the gate freely, his sly whispers rustling through all the alleys, heard in the very halls of government itself."
- Cicero

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:27 pm 
Real Estate Developer

ray wrote:
NigelTuffnel wrote:
ray wrote:

Yes, you do have a question mark, although I read it as rhetorical. The article can be read and possibly interpreted as the figure reducing in one short period of time, whereas, the figure has been reducing over an extended period of time. It could be interpreted as being economically related. The figures over ten years show that asylum applications in Ireland would appear to have no direct relationship with prevailing economic conditions. I'd hate for anybody to draw that conclusion.

I'm curious to know Ray why you would "hate" for anyone to conclude that asylum applications had anything to do with the economy. What's so terribly wrong with such an opnion? Isn't it the case that the mass migration - both legal and illegal - into Ireland began in the mid to late 1990's just as the Celtic Tiger was roaring? Isn't it likely that those who couldn't enter the country legally might have used the asylum process? And how do you explain that asylum seeking in Ireland was virtually non-existant before the economy boomed?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 4:39 pm 

HiFi wrote:
I'm curious to know Ray why you would "hate" for anyone to conclude that asylum applications had anything to do with the economy. What's so terribly wrong with such an opnion? Isn't it the case that the mass migration - both legal and illegal - into Ireland began in the mid to late 1990's just as the Celtic Tiger was roaring? Isn't it likely that those who couldn't enter the country legally might have used the asylum process? And how do you explain that asylum seeking in Ireland was virtually non-existant before the economy boomed?

I'd hate somebody to draw that conclusion because according to the statistics that I provided, it would be a wrong conclusion to draw!

You are entitled to your opinion that there was a drop off in levels of asylum seekers due to the economic downturn. This is what you said.
Hifi wrote:
Yeah, it's quite remarkable how the levels of opression of various peoples in certain African countries seems to fluctuate with the fortunes of our economy!

I have provided you with information that clearly shows that there is no obvious or direct relationship between the number of asylum seekers and the prevailing economic conditions over the last number of years. Are you going to withdraw the statement above or are you happy to leave it out there?

As for asylum seeking in the 90s or earlier. I have no problem accepting that it increased to a level and then decreased. I don't know why it increased in the first place, perhaps that was related to the economy, perhaps it was related to the opening up of transport links to Ireland, perhaps it was related to people knowing people here already, perhaps asylum seekers had never knew Ireland existed until the 90s. Provide some data about the numbers of asylum seekers during the 90s and we can extend the scope of the debate.

- Cicero

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2012 5:55 pm 
Back Home with Mammy

ray wrote:
As for asylum seeking in the 90s or earlier. I have no problem accepting that it increased to a level and then decreased. I don't know why it increased in the first place, perhaps that was related to the economy, perhaps it was related to the opening up of transport links to Ireland, perhaps it was related to people knowing people here already, perhaps asylum seekers had never knew Ireland existed until the 90s. Provide some data about the numbers of asylum seekers during the 90s and we can extend the scope of the debate.

There's also the fact that prior to the mid-nineties Ireland was best (though arguably unfairly) known internationally as a hotbed of violence and terrorism. If you're escaping the frying pan why jump to the fire?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:10 am 
Neo Landlord

ray wrote:
NigelTuffnel wrote:
ray wrote:

To be honest Ray, I felt the subtext of your response is that it is somehow inherently racist (making unfounded assertions) to try and determine if there is a correlation between two events that seem remarkably intertwined on the face of it. I think this stifles honest debate and analysis. I don't care why anyone is here, how they got here or where they come from - If I lived in Crapistan or Shitolia I would do my best to get out of there. In fact, I would even make a false asylum claim if that's what it took to secure a decent life and future for me and my family. I say fair play and good luck to them. To be honest I believe the motive for the majority of asylum seekers in the past was primarily economic and the numbers of failed applications would seem to back that reality.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:33 am 
Property Magnate

With all this discussion of asylum, then this today in the IT

Hostel in Australia refuses to take Irish

A DUBLIN man who runs a pub and hostel in the north Queensland town of Prosperpine is refusing to accommodate any more Irish backpackers after a series of drunken and property-damaging incidents.
“Hundreds of poor boat people died last week trying to get into Australia,” he said, “and these guys who could not get a job in Ireland have been given the opportunity to work and the opportunity to extend their visa an extra year by working 12 weeks on a farm.”

He said “low-lifes” who caused damage should be kept in Ireland to “give the real refugees a chance”.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:58 pm 

NigelTuffnel wrote:
ray wrote:

To be honest Ray, I felt the subtext of your response is that it is somehow inherently racist (making unfounded assertions) to try and determine if there is a correlation between two events that seem remarkably intertwined on the face of it. I think this stifles honest debate and analysis. I don't care why anyone is here, how they got here or where they come from - If I lived in Crapistan or Shitolia I would do my best to get out of there. In fact, I would even make a false asylum claim if that's what it took to secure a decent life and future for me and my family. I say fair play and good luck to them. To be honest I believe the motive for the majority of asylum seekers in the past was primarily economic and the numbers of failed applications would seem to back that reality.

Nigel, my response contained evidence which showed that the reduction in the number of asylum seekers in Ireland has been decreasing over a 10 year period. It was not my intention to stifle debate but to show that there was not one specific point in time where asylum seekers dropped to 10% of the previous years number. I was happy for the debate to continue but with the addition of some new information.

To your second point, I completely agree, I do not blame people for attempting to find their way to countries where their lives will be immeasurably better. The level of inequality in the world makes it inevitable that some people will try to improve their lot by moving legally or illegally to other countries.

- Cicero

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:01 pm 
Speculator

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/generat ... emigrants/

Much sadness, loss, and even a sense of national humiliation shrouds the departure of our young and not so young emigrants, many of whom assumed they would spend their lives working in trades, professions and vocations at home.

But, pending an economic recovery in, say, 10, 20 years from now, how will this generation of emigrants be treated if they decide the time is right for a return to Ireland? Will they be greeted back with arms wide-open? Or, will those of us who stayed behind just shrug our shoulders bitterly on seeing them again?

If the evidence from a research project I recently completed on the reintegration experiences of the 1980s cohort of Irish emigrants who returned to live in Celtic Tiger Ireland is any indication of future trends, then the present group of emigrants should not expect much if and when they do return...

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 4:27 am 

Residency approved!

Outta here beeatches. Happy hunting, y'all.

Last edited by Sidewinder on Wed Aug 01, 2012 4:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 4:48 am 

I wish you happiness on your journey, Sidewinder. Remind me again, are you already in New Zealand?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 4:51 am 

doubleglaze wrote:
I wish you happiness on your journey, Sidewinder. Remind me again, are you already in New Zealand?

Yeah, arrived on a one-year work visa last December, just got permanent residency 8)

So now I'm off to BD 8DD XD

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 829 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54 ... 56  Next